Zucchini & Summer Squash “Pasta”

I recently used Groupon for the first time. A fellow Oxfam American Action Corps member shared a deal where you could get a 1-month subscription of organic produce from a local farm for $39.00. Since I made the switch to a vegetarian diet I have been struggling with veggies. Since I don’t know what I like, buying them at a grocery store is very tough, and I haven’t ventured out to a farmer’s market yet. (I have social anxiety issues, and really, it’s hot here in Texas.) So I signed up for this produce delivery and have vowed to eat every single item in the box.

Summer squash, zucchini, basil pesto, Asiago cheese, and pizza sauce for good measure.

I would like to mention that I have never eaten zucchini or summer squash before so I was very hesitant about this idea. I have seen people rave about eating substitute pasta so I felt it was a worthy endeavor. I had some leftover pesto to toss the finished product in.

I started cutting the veggies into thin slices as I didn’t have a julienne slicer.

I read in some comments at different food sites that you should cut the seeds out, so I did. I have since learned that you can leave them in so I will try that when I cook them again.

I sliced them as thin and uniform as possible.

Since I have never cooked either of these before, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I cut them as uniformly as possible so they would cook evenly, though that didn’t turn out to be an issue at all. This is one of each vegetable chopped up and ready to throw in some boiling water.

Put the “pasta” into a pan of boiling water with some sea salt.

Bring the water back to a boil and boil for about one minute.

I boiled the “pasta” for about a minute or so which was the most recommended cooking method for this type of veggie. With the exception of chopping it up, this was almost faster than making angel hair pasta.

Drain the veggies and quickly rinse with cold water.

Remove the pan from heat and drain the “pasta”; rinse it with cold water to stop the cooking process. I believe this helps retain nutrients as well as texture.

Zucchini & summer squash “pasta” tossed with basil pesto.

The next time I make the pesto I will add a post about it. I absolutely LOVE the stuff and it’s so easy to make as healthy as you need it to be. I tossed my finished “pasta” with pesto and topped it with some Asiago cheese. This batch of pesto was made with basil, Asiago cheese (instead of Parmesan), olive oil, garlic, pine nuts, and sunflower seeds. I just had the seeds leftover so I threw them in at the last minute. This was such a wonderful and refreshing dinner and I am so proud of myself for eating these veggies! They truthfully did not have a taste to themselves, so much that I felt like I should have added more salt. I would never have touched this as a kid, and I wouldn’t expect my nephew to eat it in this form. If I had made the slices much thinner, more like pasta, he might have tried it with spaghetti sauce. Kudos to Groupon and organic produce delivery. 🙂

Leave a Reply

