Chewy Vanilla Cherry Almond Bars

Don’t you hate when you find something you love on Pinterest, then forget to pin it? Well, I found a recipe for some chewy energy bars a while back that had dried cherries in them and apparently I forgot to pin the recipe. I have looked all over for it, but decided to just search “dried cherries” on Pinterest. I did not find what I was looking for but I found something better – almonds, dried cherries, and dates. I love cherries and dried cherries are no different. I also happen to love dates, but I find they are too sweet to eat by themselves. This is a wonderful way to cut the sweetness and still get some yummy dates in my diet.

The recipe was found at Creative Juices for Decor and she says they are a homemade version of Cherry Pie LaraBars. I’ve personally never eaten a Lara Bar, as I normally don’t buy into diet foods and prepackaged anything. Apparently this is a pretty wholesome brand, but nothing beats homemade and they are cheaper from scratch if you’ve got time to make them. I changed the recipe up by adding one ingredient: vanilla bean paste.

Ingredient List:

  • 1/2 cup chopped almonds
  • 1 cup dried pitted cherries
  • 1 cup dates, pitted
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (or extract)

Almonds, dried sweet cherries (no sugar added), and Medjool dates.

Dried sweet cherries – found in the bulk section, prepacked so I bought a few.

Medjool dates, found in the bulk section.

The first thing you’ll want to do is chop the almonds if you bought whole ones. The recipe says to chop them in the food processor but that is quite frankly too much noise for me, so I hand chopped them in a mini chopper.

Chopped almonds using my mini food chopper. I love this thing!

You’ll also want to pit the dates. I will admit that I did not even think about pitting mine (I’ve even eaten these things before!) and didn’t realize it until I turned the food processor on with the cherries and dates inside. Turns out that is a very handy way to pit the things, though! With a few good pulses I was able to pick all of the pits out and continue on my way to “energy” bar bliss. πŸ™‚

Cherries and whole dates in the food processor – 1 cup of each.

The cherries and dates will form a ball, more or less.

Once you mix the cherries and dates really well, the recipe says to transfer the fruit mixture into a mixer with the almonds. I do not own a Kitchen Aid mixer and my hand mixer was probably not interested in this project. I put the fruit mixture in a large glass bowl, then I added in the chopped almonds and the vanilla bean paste.

Fruit mixture, chopped almonds, and vanilla bean paste.

Instead of using a mixer, I just started by chopping it all together with a wooden spoon. This was not an exact science and it didn’t need to look pretty. I’m not sharing. πŸ˜›

Fruit mixture combined with nuts and vanilla.

After I got it chopped really well, I used my hands to knead the rest of the almonds in. Then I put the mixture on a piece of wax paper and placed another piece on top so I could spread it out. For some reason I also do not own a rolling pin (ikr?) so I just used my hands to press the mixture out between the wax paper. I used the bottom of one of the mixing cups to flatten it.

Mixture in between two pieces of wax paper to spread it out.

This is the first spread of fruit mixture.

I used a pizza cutter to cut the bars into rectangles. Again, I’ve never eaten a LaraBar so I don’t know the accurate size. Mine were not all uniform and I got 7 bars out of it.

First cut of bars and remaining mixture.

I just cut the rectangles and then re-rolled the mixture to cut it again. It was pretty easy to do and didn’t take long at all.

I stored mine in between wax paper layers in a glass pan with a lid.

Notice my hideous cutting skills!

I was extremely impressed with these bars! I am now interested in trying various flavors because it’s a great snack and they don’t take long. These cost approximately $10 to make, and that is an exaggerated amount because I am too lazy to do the real math on the cost. They taste great and I am glad I added the vanilla in. I am storing them in the refrigerator and I am trying my best not to eat them all tonight. Seriously delicious! πŸ™‚

4 comments on “Chewy Vanilla Cherry Almond Bars

    • Thanks for the comment, Mark! I’m not a runner myself but I do feel like they would make nice energy bars for outdoor excursions – camping, hiking, etc. Glad you enjoyed the post!

  1. Hi!! Thanks for your sweet comment and I totally enjoyed reading your version of the cherry bars – I must get some of that vanilla paste and look for those cherries in the bulk section – never thought of that….. Have a great day! Selina

    PS totally try different combinations….apple, coconut, key lime…..the list can go on and on!

    • Aw, thanks for the comment, Selina! Seriously inspiring recipe and my very fit coworker that runs loved them. My next endeavor will be cranberry, dates, and walnuts. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

