“Black Hole” Crayon Art

Since this is an ever-changing project, I feel compelled to share multiple instances of it while I work out different techniques. On my first crayon art project I attempted to make circles with the crayons to create a “sunburst” effect. It didn’t turn out the way I initially envisioned it in my head, but I absolutely loved the finished product. Though I like to think they are all open to interpretation, it reminds me of a solar flare. Since I had a second piece of canvas and extra crayons, I decided to create something that was darker, but still keeping with the theme.

When I started this piece of art I was thinking about galaxies and nebulas. I see tons of images of space all over Pinterest that inspire me and by the time I was done with the project it had turned into a black hole. Still, I love the artwork and I am so fascinated by “painting” with crayons! I have yet to work on the crayon art that has the crayons actually attached to the canvas, but I will get to that one day. For now, I am going to keep playing with this technique.

Greens, blues, purples, and violets with grey, black, & white.

Crayons & glitter with stretched canvas.

Since I used yellows, oranges, and reds in the last artwork, and both will be going on a wall in my office at work, I wanted to use the cooler end of the color spectrum in this piece. I used two colors that tie in both pieces, though they are not both pictured in the posts – yellow green and red violet. The red violet was my “flare” in the first piece, and the yellow green had two bright splashes in the base color. I did the same with the yellow green in this piece as you will see.

Blue green, blue, cerulean, and indigo – base colors.

The base colors of this piece are mostly blues. Again, I did not take pictures of the boring task of removing the crayon wrappers, but it must be done to paint this way! I started with cerulean (unintentionally), then did a blue layer, then a blue green layer, and finally used the indigo to create a “night sky” look.

The first layer of cerulean crayon.

The second layer with blue, in addition to the cerulean.

The third and fourth layer with blue green and indigo, plus blue & cerulean.

To get the “smears”, I just heated the crayons and rolled them across the canvas until the wax dried – very quickly. The lines I was able to draw by heating the point of the crayon, letting the wax pool, then dragging quickly while heating with the dryer.

I continued to add more blues in the base to give it a very full background.

As I did in the first project, I let the ends of the crayons drip down the edges and I moved the wax around and down by blowing on it with the dryer. It’s pretty easy to do and another reason I am glad I only have a travel-size hair dryer. Any additional power would have blown the wax too much.

I added the first neutral, grey. You can also see the first smear of yellow green.

I will admit that when I started adding the grey I got a little bit nervous. The last project didn’t have any neutral colors in it so I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was hoping the gray would mix well with the other colors and lighten it up a bit, but it was too dark a grey I think. I soldiered on, though.

The background is now filled in with blues and grey.

Once I filled in the entire piece of canvas with the blues and grey, I was ready to add other colors. At this point I haven’t used any glitter as I wanted to reserve that for the “stars” in the galaxy. I haven’t figured out that I am going for the black hole just yet, but it’s not too long before it takes shape.

The start of a black hole – it’s very intense here.

I used gold glitter in the “black hole”. It started out looking very intimidating. I wasn’t sure if I would be able to turn it into anything or if I would have to pivot on the idea. Fortunately, there are still a few colors to go and plenty of time to move the wax around.

I started by adding green that spreads vertically between the black and the yellow green.

Some of the different galaxy/nebula images are done in beautiful green colors so I wanted to add some green in to create a “gas cloud” type of look. I also thought it would blend the yellow green and blue green into the picture nicely.

The next color was blue violet which I used to blend with the indigo.

Since I blended the green into the yellow- and blue green, I decided to use the blue violet to blend into the indigo and black. It also blends nicely with the grey. I used a light green glitter on the green wax, and I used a light pink glitter on the blue violet wax. So far there are just a few sprinkles of glitter, but it’s starting to come together a bit more and I am less nervous about the whole project.

I’ve added violet and red violet now to round out the colors I’m using.

The last colors, minus white, I added were the violet and red violet. They weren’t really used to blend anything specifically, but I used them to form a sort of “cloud” around the black hole to separate it from the blue “sky”. I used the same light pink glitter on the violet, and I used a red glitter on the red violet. Now I just need to add in the white touches and finish it up.

I’ve added white around the “color clouds” and the black hole.

The white made it appear more “cloud-like”, and I sprinkled silver glitter in the white wax. You may notice that at this point the picture has flipped vertically. I didn’t have the other pictures and I forgot which end I had up.

Finished artwork. πŸ™‚

To add some finishing touches to the piece, I added some additional white around the black hole and I used the dryer to blend it both into the black and into the color. I also went back and added some touch-ups of the blue base toward the corners. I moved some wax around in the center to finish it off. The last thing I did was spray it with a couple of coats of gloss Mod Podge sealer. This is so the glitter won’t come off. I absolutely love the finished project!! I’m not sure if I love it as much as the “Solar Flare” but it’s obviously a close second. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

