Red Lentil, Rice, & Potato Stew

Okay, I admit that this did not come from Pinterest. I bought some spices and shenanigans at the Savory Spice Shop and I wanted to find a use for this tomato & honey powder I bought. The tomato & honey powder is a mixture intended for a Chicken Tikka Masala recipe, but I knew I would find another use for it. I liked the idea of something creamy so I modeled the recipe after the Tikka Masala. I pretty much threw together some of my favorite foods with some spices.

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 medium Yukon potatoes
  • 1/2 cup brown rice
  • 1/2 cup red lentils
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2-3 tablespoons butter*
  • 1 package tomato & honey powder (OR 8 ounces tomato sauce & 1 teaspoon honey)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream*
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1 tablespoon Berbere Ethiopian style seasoning
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons sea salt

*If you are not a strict vegan and don’t mind the honey powder, the butter can be replaced with coconut or palm oil and the sour cream can be removed to make this without animal fats. I am personally a fan of  butter and dairy products, though.

Potatoes, tomato & honey powder, Berbere Ethiopian style seasoning, lemon, butter, sour cream, & baby spinach

Directions:

Prepare tomato & honey powder by mixing with 8 ounces of water; set aside.

Tomato & honey powder mixed with water, lemon, sour cream, baby spinach

Rinse lentils and rice, then combine in a large stock pan. Add vegetable broth and 1-2 cups of water, depending in how thin you like your stew. Bring to a boil, then simmer until rice is tender. While this is cooking, you can start the potatoes.

Red lentils & brown rice cooked in vegetable broth

In a cast iron skillet, melt butter and seasonings. Mash 1 clove of garlic and saute in skillet. Chop the potatoes in the shape of your choice – I sliced mine but dicing would be great, too. Add to the skillet and cook potatoes until they are just soft.

Sliced potatoes sauteed in butter, a clove of garlic, and Berbere Ethiopian style seasoning

Add the lemon juice, salt, and tomato paste mixture to the potatoes in the skillet. Cook for 3-5 minutes, then add sour cream and continue cooking until potatoes are tender.

Tomato paste combined with potatoes

Potatoes with tomato paste and sour cream

Once the potatoes are tender, you will combine the potatoes with the lentils & rice.

Brown rice and red lentils before potatoes are mixed in.

Red lentil, rice, & potato stew served with baby spinach.

I am a picture failure and did not get a picture of the whole pot after it was finished. However, I served mine with some of my marinated mozzarella balls and some baby spinach. It was so delicious that I had 2 bowls. It was mildly spicy and just a little bit sweet. I enjoyed it and I will have some leftovers for a couple of days which makes me happy. It’s one of those dishes that is going to be better the second time around, I believe!

Leave a Reply

