Stain Remover: Hydrogen Peroxide & Original Dawn

I have seen a few different pins about how great this combo is for removing stains. Well, my carpet has quite a few that I was short of burning out, so I decided to mix it up and give it a try. I found the recipe for this at Modern Day Moms, and I love it!

It has two simple ingredients: 2 parts hydrogen peroxide and 1 part Dawn liquid soap. I made 30 ounces so I used 20 ounces of hydrogen peroxide and 10 ounces of Dawn.

I have labeled my bottle so I will just reuse this one over and over. I got the spray bottle at Wal-Mart (ugh, sorry) for less than a $1.00 and the peroxide & soap are both about $1.00 a piece. Needless to say, this was really cheap to make. NOW, to see if it works!

This is a small spot on my carpet that most likely is ash. It could be dirt. Who knows? Anyway, it’s a small spot and we’ll see if this blue spray can knock it out.

I sprayed enough to cover the area and I let it sit for a few minutes. I suggest letting it sit longer if the stain has been there a while, and possible spraying it again to really get the cleaning action. It may not magically disappear, but I decided to scrub it with a sponge. A brush would probably have been better, but I didn’t have one.

What?! WHAT?! Seriously, I am amazed. Okay, so let’s see what it does on big spots. I have small and big, and I don’t believe how great it worked.

Now, this is a big spot. Again, this is probably ashes, but there is no telling. It’s horribly embarrassing, but I am glad I get to test out this spray. So let’s see after a spray and a scrub if I can get rid of this eyesore.

Okay, so it didn’t completely go away on the first scrub, but this is INCREDIBLE. I know once I spray it one more time and scrub it with a brush, it will be good to go. I am super impressed. I haven’t tried it on anything else yet, but I may give it a shot in my bathtub for soap scum, or my shower for dirty grout. It smells wonderful! I definitely recommend giving this a shot in place of your regular stain remover.

Leave a Reply

