Grating Dove bar soap

Hand Soap made from Bar Soap

In an effort to save some money, I have decided to start making household products that I usually have to buy a couple of times a month – laundry detergent, body wash, whatever I can find to make! Hand soap is something I like to keep around the house, but it’s expensive. I found a nifty pin on how to make your own hand soap out of a bar of soap and decided that I would accept the challenge.

The blog that I found the idea for this on, Frugally Green, doesn’t appear to work for me anymore, but I added the link anyway in case it’s back up soon! The recipe calls for grating up 1 bar of Dove soap (any variety of Dove will work for this; she also has a recipe for making it with other types of soap that do not have moisturizers) which is equal to about 2 cups. Since finishing this particular batch I have found another set of directions for making this bar soap into liquid body wash, and it also has a nifty idea to microwave the soap. I will be trying that soon. :) In the meantime, I hand grated my soap.

It is a little bit time consuming, but it’s mindless work while watching television. Idle hands are the Devil’s playground. ;) I love this particular scent of Dove. It is the Go Fresh! Revive, and it smells like pomegranate & lemon verbena – to me, it smells like Heaven. I have the body spray & deodorant. I have also used the liquid body wash (and shampoo/conditioner), but they are super expensive and I am going to try my hand at making my own shampoo. Anyway!

Once you’ve grated all of the soap, you will melt it down in water. The hand soap recipe called for 6 cups of water. I read through the comments and a lot of people mentioned having different consistencies depending on whether they had hard water or not. I used distilled water in mine, just in case.

The process just takes some time. It melts on medium heat and it will start to foam a bit. The higher the temp and the longer you allow it to melt, the smoother your soap will be. If you have an immersion blender, you can blend it when it’s done. Be prepared for a few suds! I tried a hand mixer and had moderate success, but no pictures of that! Sorry!

I funneled mine into a 1 gallon milk jug, though there is hardly that much. Then I used it in my regular soap dispensers! It is truthfully a little thin, so I may try it with a little less water next time, or I may try it without the distilled water to see if it makes a difference. For now, though, I am enjoying the smell of pomegranate & lemon verbena all over my apartment!

2 comments on “Hand Soap made from Bar Soap

  1. I use a grater with large holes. In a big bowl I grate one 4 ounce bar of white Dove. In the microwave I boil 26 ounces of water, and pour it into bowl of grated Dove. Mix well with a fork until almost all smooth. Add another 23 ounces of boiling water and mix with a wire wisk. Stir occasionally while it cools.(about two hours.)

    • Craig, thanks for this advice! That actually sounds a little easier and I will give it a shot the next time around. I purchased a nifty grater from Ikea in which the lid is the grater and it sits on a bowl. I haven’t used it yet and I am anxious to give it a shot. I’m going to try your way and see if I like it better. :) A lot easier than watching the stove.

Leave a Reply

