Avocado “Mayo” Spread

One of the most disappointing things about Pinterest is when a pin doesn’t link to anything! How obnoxious is it to see something “crafty” and there isn’t a tutorial? And how frustrating is it to find something that looks DELICIOUS, but there’s no recipe? This doesn’t happen to me often, but I found what I thought would be a delicious recipe for avocado “mayo” spread WITHOUT mayonnaise (I hate the stuff!) only to have my stomach’s dreams ripped away. The link is broken! I even Googled the spread and couldn’t find it with the specific ingredient list. Now, I realize you can just whip up some avocados in the food processor and they would be tasty alone, but I like to know what was so amazing about someone’s recipe that they felt the need to post it, you know?

At the very least, the pin’s comment has a list of what should be in this, but I didn’t have everything so I had to make some substitutions. I always have to make substitutions. Anyway, the original pin says this spread is an avocado, whipping cream, lemon juice, mustard, & Tabasco sauce. I rarely purchase lemons so I used a lime instead, and I also prefer Louisiana Hot Sauce over Tabasco Sauce. Use what you love!

I chopped the avocado up a bit, squeezed a lime, used about a teaspoon of yellow mustard, and some hot sauce as the recipe called for, and then I added sour cream & a touch of milk, and whipped it up in the food processor.

I didn’t take any pictures of the finished product, but it looks like the original pin and it was delicious! When I make it again, I will use spicy brown mustard instead of yellow mustard. I ate it as a baked potato topping and it would be delicious on a grilled cheese or a sprout-y sandwich. Another win for avocados!

Leave a Reply

