Sweet and spicy, all-natural cough remedy.

Homemade Cough Remedy

I am largely free of commercial medication. I don’t like pills or feeling medicated, but I don’t get sick much so this is never a problem. When my allergies act up I tend to get a small, chesty cough. I haven’t actively looked for anything to fix this but I stumbled upon a pin the other day that looked promising.

The recipe comes from the blog, Good Food Matters. Since I have no expertise in this area, I didn’t stray from the recipe except to make a double batch. ;)

Ingredients:

  • 2 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 tablespoons local honey

Local honey, apple cider vinegar, ground ginger, and cayenne pepper.

When I found the recipe I was delighted that I had ALL of the ingredients. Local honey is preferred due to its pollen content – I try to eat the stuff every single day. Here in Austin we have delicious wildflower honeys! An organic apple cider vinegar is preferred, but I had cheap stuff for my hair rinse and that’s what I used.

I used a small glass jar with an airtight lid.

I am not sure what size the container is, but I made a double batch of the above listed ingredients. This jar fit that with room to spare and I mixed it all up in here, as well.

Ginger and cayenne pepper.

First I put the ground ginger and cayenne pepper into the container. At this point I have only put enough for one batch. After I mixed it all up I decided it was so delicious I would just fill the jar up.

ACV, water, and dry ingredients.

Stir the apple cider vinegar and water in with the dry ingredients and mix well. Mine did not dissolve all the way, but I don’t think that is necessary. The next step is to add the honey and stir well, or shake vigorously.

Sweet and spicy, all-natural cough remedy.

The blog’s author says to take 1 teaspoon as needed for a cough. I had a bit of a cough today and took some with much success! The true test will be the next time my boyfriend gets sick, so I will update then. In the meantime, this is great to kick that allergy or summer cold cough!

Leave a Reply

